Serving Brandon, Valrico, Lithia, Riverview, Apollo Beach & surrounding areas
Welcome to the Sunshine State !
Florida law requires that all automobile operators have No-Fault Insurance. Under No-Fault Insurance, one's insurance company pays for treatment of any personal injuries received as a result of an auto accident, no matter who is at fault. Proof of this insurance must be shown to obtain automobile tags.
Non-residents - such as tourists, students and military personnel - who have a car in Florida for more than 90 days during a year are required to have No-Fault Insurance. (The 90 days do not have to be consecutive.) For more information on the state's insurance laws, call 1-800-342-2762.
Within 30 days of moving to Florida, one must obtain a Florida license plate if one:
• Is employed here.
• Has children who attend school in the state.
• Claims a homestead exemption.
• Registers to vote.
To get your license plate, a vehicle registration, proof of insurance and automobile title must be taken to
any tag office. For more information, contact the Hillsborough County Tax Collector's Office at 635-5200.
If one becomes a resident of Florida, is employed here, or enrolls children in area public schools, one must have a valid Florida driver's license within 30 days. The license is good for 6 years and is renewable by the driver's birth date. If one possesses a valid license from another state, only a sight test is required. For more information or to make an appointment, call 740-7534.
Simply moving to Florida does not make one a legal resident. One must register to vote or file a Declaration of Domicile with the circuit court. For more information, contact the Clerk of the Circuit Court at 276-8100, ext. 7844.
There is a 7% sales tax in Hillsborough County. Florida has no state personal income tax.
The state offers a Homestead Exemption to Florida residents who own and occupy a home as of January 1 of any given year. The exemption is $25,000 off the assessed valuation of one's home. The homeowner must file for the exemption with the County Property Appraiser's Office between January 1 and March 1 for the first time. The exemption will renew automatically on an annual basis. The county will send the renewal by mail. No action is required on the homeowner's part.
For more information, call 635-5200.
One must be at least 18 years old (with proof of age) and be a permanent resident of the State of Florida to register to vote. Registration must be at least 30 days prior to an election in order to vote in that election. For more information, call the Supervisor of Elections at 272-5850.